Weekly Wrap-Up

Weekly Wrap-Up 11/8

Some links to polish off your work week so you can get  home and polish off some ribs this weekend:

From Her.meneutics, Fellow Christians: I’m Rich and I’m Sorry. A helpful nudge toward a better (read: less impassioned and derisive) conversation about money in the church:

“I know I cannot make these choices faithfully without the church holding the conversation of money and its proper stewardship and allowing me to admit that I am rich. I need the new conversation about money. I need it, not only because I am rich and feeling sorry, but because I believe—and the Bible insists—that the much with which I’ve been entrusted has been meant for good (2 Cor. 8:14).”

From Valerie Hess at Conversations Journal, Mystery of God

One of the overall impressions I got from that experience is that mystery in the things of God are a given for Eastern Christians. They hardly question it, really. They are content to let God be God, working out the ways of the Kingdom in hiddenness. Unlike we in the West, they don’t have to understand every last “jot and tittle.” Mystery is what makes God “God.”

From Casey Tygrett at Conversation for Transformation, Disappointed? Good.:

 “Nothing shows us more about the way we see God and our life in Him than our expectations. Nothing reveals our expectations like disappointment.”

From Sarah Cunningham at Her.meneutics, I’ve Grown Cynical of Cynicism:

 “Practically speaking all this venting and re-hashing takes time and energy. We talk about cynicism, we pray about it, we journal about it, we read about it. Pretty soon the hours we’re devoting to being cynical may be siphoning off days at a time from that life we once committed to Jesus.”

From Edible Geography, The Meaning of Meals:

Leave a Reply

